Jump to content
howoarang

Dell Precision M4800 - MacOS Sierra

Recommended Posts

 

On 5/6/2018 at 7:43 AM, xunil75 said:

I was able to install OSX High Sierra on my Dell Precision M4800 without any issue. Thanks to the Forum and to some posts where I've found usefull files.

 

 

BT9iDpO.jpg

 

Can you give a detailed process? I am stuck at 13.1 and can't go up to 13.4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
12 hours ago, tanphu194 said:

 

Can you give a detailed process? I am stuck at 13.1 and can't go up to 13.4

Open  App store then hit "Update", at the clover screen you should disable nvidia at this time then wait untill the update completed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 5/9/2018 at 1:34 AM, tanphu194 said:

 

Can you give a detailed process? I am stuck at 13.1 and can't go up to 13.4 

Hi!

Could you get the internal screen to work at 13.6 or 14.1?  How to do it?thank you very much.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi

This is my laptop  dell m4800 

i7 4810mx

k2100m

3k QHD(I don't know this interface is EDP or LVDS.)

mac os:13.6

My problems:

1.The internal screen is black Screen.  The DP is good .but i don't want to use external monitor.

2.This laptop don't have intel HD (Does that mean I can't use the internal screen? )

3.If I use AMD graphics card(m5100), can I drive the internal screen?

Thank you very much

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@everex no need to double/triple/quadruple post on the same issue. If you want special attention, please open your own thread but do not post the same questions in every possible M4800 thread you find on the forum. Thank you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

my question is:   how can get the internal LCD to wake (turn on) after sleep when using ATI graphics? 

 

Update - switched to use both gfx options - LCD on IGPU and External ports with ATI. 

 

I decided to take another look at using the AMD/ATI M5100 Graphics card on my M4800 since I wanted to use the display external ports.

 

Well I seemed to stumble onto a  solution:

Using Whatevegreen.kext without injection showed me the HMDI port was possible - but the other other LCD and DP ports were not working.

so i injected the Buri framebuffer set and with WEG's help, now the DP and HMDI port worked!

then i tried Ebi framebuffer - and this got the LCD and DP now but not HDMI.

so after trial and error, combining Ebi with Buri to make a buffer patch - i have all 3 working: LCD, DP, HDMI.

 

Update - using IGPU + ATI

 

on Mohave 10.4.3beta

switchable graphics in BIOS

inject ATI true

set buffer to Buri

 

Note: for ATI only using Ebi framebuffer will connect to LCD - patching it one can blend Buri and Ebi to get all 3 LVDS, DP, HDMI.

 

 

using these kexts:

as.vit9696.AppleALC (1.3.5)

as.vit9696.Lilu (1.3.1)

as.vit9696.WhateverGreen (1.2.7)

com.insanelymac.IntelMausiEthernet (2.5.0d0)

com.techsmith.TACC (1.0.3)

org.hwsensors.driver.ACPISensors (1443)

org.hwsensors.driver.CPUSensors (1443)

org.netkas.driver.FakeSMC (1443)

org.rehabman.driver.AppleSmartBatteryManager (1.90.1)

org.rehabman.driver.FakePCIID (1.3.6)

org.rehabman.driver.FakePCIID.XHCIMux (1.3.6)

org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Controller (6.0.0)

org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Keyboard (6.0.0)

org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Trackpad (6.0.0)

org.tw.CodecCommander (2.5.0)

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1/9/2019 at 3:15 AM, tluck said:

my question is:   how can get the internal LCD to wake (turn on) after sleep when using ATI graphics?

 

LCD goes off - not dark grey - but off. maybe someone can share an idea for a DSDT patch? add something to _WAK?

 the LCD display shows up as DP connected display on FB3 so it seems to be like another external display. 

  

Note: I had been using HD 4600 for about 2 years now. and everything works fine - audio, BT, wifi, sleep/wake etc - but cannot use DP or HDMI.

 

Long story:

I decided to take another look at using the AMD/ATI M5100 Graphics card on my M4800 since I wanted to use the display external ports.

 

Well I seemed to stumble onto a  solution:

Using Whatevegreen.kext without injection showed me the HMDI port was possible - but the other other LCD and DP ports were not working.

so i injected the Buri framebuffer set and with WEG's help, now the DP and HMDI port worked!

then i tried Ebi framebuffer - and this got the LCD and DP now but not HDMI.

so after trial and error, combining Ebi with Buri to make a buffer patch - i have all 3 working: LCD, DP, HDMI.

 

on Mohave 10.4.3beta

disabled switchable graphics in BIOS

inject ATI true

set buffer to Ebi

 

using these kexts:

as.vit9696.AppleALC (1.3.5)

as.vit9696.Lilu (1.3.1)

as.vit9696.WhateverGreen (1.2.7)

com.insanelymac.IntelMausiEthernet (2.5.0d0)

com.techsmith.TACC (1.0.3)

org.hwsensors.driver.ACPISensors (1443)

org.hwsensors.driver.CPUSensors (1443)

org.netkas.driver.FakeSMC (1443)

org.rehabman.driver.AppleSmartBatteryManager (1.90.1)

org.rehabman.driver.FakePCIID (1.3.6)

org.rehabman.driver.FakePCIID.XHCIMux (1.3.6)

org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Controller (6.0.0)

org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Keyboard (6.0.0)

org.rehabman.voodoo.driver.PS2Trackpad (6.0.0)

org.tw.CodecCommander (2.5.0)

 

Hello. 

My m4800 everything works normally except sleep / wake.
Can you guide me how to sleep / wake.
My machine hardware configuration is:
i7 4810qm, 1920x1080, k1100 quadro, 16bg ram

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

happy to share my config and DSDT.

i will create a repo on github. and you can see if it helps you. 

for about 2 years i used the intel HD gfx only.

but now can use switchable gfx. IGPU runs the LCD and ATI runs the DP or HDMI ports.

 

i presume similar approach will work for you with Nvidia?

 

the only issue i have now is the Intel BT doesnt come back after wake?

 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, tluck said:

the only issue i have now is the Intel BT doesnt come back after wake?

 

Do you have the HPET fix in place?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Hervé

well yes i have/had the HPET fix in place...

 

but thank you! your post put me on the right track. now everything seem to work.

 

I removed FakePCIID_XHCIMux kexts and went with RehabMan's standard USBInjectAll.kext.

Then the "Bluetooth HCI" shows up (before and after sleep) in the USB list.

 

but was missing 3 SuperSpeed ports.

Bluetooth seems to show up HS10

 

so fixed up a custom Injector and have all the ports!

 

Now everything seems to work:

 

Display: LCD (with brightness), External DP and HDMI

Audio (speaker, mic) 

Intel Bluetooth

Wifi - with 2nd card - Atheros

Sleep/Wake

USB3 - 4 external ports.

 

tluck@Toms-Dell /Extra/OSX-build/Systems/Dell
$ ioreg -l|grep "\-o HS"
    | |   |   +-o HS01@14100000  <class AppleUSB20XHCIPort, id 0x10000029d, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain 10>
    | |   |   +-o HS02@14200000  <class AppleUSB20XHCIPort, id 0x10000029e, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (8889 ms), retain 16>
    | |   |   +-o HS05@14300000  <class AppleUSB20XHCIPort, id 0x10000029f, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain 10>
    | |   |   +-o HS06@14400000  <class AppleUSB20XHCIPort, id 0x1000002a0, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain 10>
    | |   |   +-o HS10@14500000  <class AppleUSB20XHCIPort, id 0x1000002a1, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (268 ms), retain 15>

tluck@Toms-Dell /Extra/OSX-build/Systems/Dell
$ ioreg -l|grep "\-o SS"
    | |   |   +-o SSP1@14600000  <class AppleUSB30XHCIPort, id 0x1000002a2, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain 13>
    | |   |   +-o SSP2@14700000  <class AppleUSB30XHCIPort, id 0x1000002a3, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain 13>
    | |   |   +-o SSP5@14800000  <class AppleUSB30XHCIPort, id 0x1000002a4, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (421 ms), retain 18>
    | |   |   +-o SSP6@14900000  <class AppleUSB30XHCIPort, id 0x1000002a5, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (0 ms), retain 13>

posted EFI here:

https://github.com/tluck/Dell-M4800-Clover

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×