SE30

SE30

-Where you are from/where you live.

Northern Michigan, USA

-How long you have used a hackint0sh (if this is your first time, state that you are new to this).

I'm not new, but I'm not experienced, either. I built my first hackintosh in 2010 after reading about them since 2005. I still consider myself new to integrating PC components and Mac OS X into a hackintosh as I've used Macintoshs since my first Macintosh - a SE/30.

-A brief summary of your experiences in hackint0shing (if any).

I am a user of computers, not a computer science person. So, I want them to just work and for me. That's why I've always preferred Macintoshs. After Apple began using Intel processors, I began to notice how easy it was becoming to build and install Mac OS X on PC hardware. Thus, I build my 1st non Apple H/W computer in 2010 - a GA-P55M-UD4 / i7-875K / Gigabyte 5770 / OCZ Vertex 3 60GB (Lion 10.7.5) / 500GB HDD (Win7/Ubuntu) / 1TB HDD (data) computer which still works great today. I am finishing assembling GA-Z77X-UP5 TH / i5-3570K / HD4000 based system.

-What triggered your interest in hackint0sh.

In 2005, I started to realize that my hot rodded Sawtooth (1.5 GHz G4 processor, etc.) was at the end of life, and my new G5 wouldn't hold out much longer. But, after paying "big bucks" (slang for lots of money) for the G5, I knew my next computer better cost a lot less than the G5. So, I started paying attention to the hackint0sh forum sections at MacRumors and InsanelyMac. I retired in 2010 and now had the time to devote to building a hacktin0sh to keep my technical curiosity satisfied. (I'm a retired Aeronautical/Astronautical Engineer with an MBA. Truly a lover of aerospace vehicles.)

-Your general computer skill level.