Dell D630 and SL

awdscot

Hi,

hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.

I am a newbie to the Mac OS and I am having difficulty getting it installed on my Dell D630 laptop.

I have a Dell D630 laptop which has a hard disk with Vista installed on it. I want to wipe this and purely run it as a Mac.

In addiiton l have a new retail SL CD and a 500GB usb drive which i hope to use for any boot procedures i have to do.

Please note i do not have any access to a MAC.

So far all i have been able to do is install TransMac on a windows 7 PC and convert my 500GB usb drive into a HFS+ volume. I have then also restored my retail disk to this volume.

After this i am stuck.

How do i use the chameleon bootloader and where exactly do the "extra" packs and "boot" packs need to go to?

Any advice much appreciated?

Please note i am not familiar with the MAC os file system or .pkg files so any instruction i would appreciate if they were detailed.

Andy

Hi,

hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.

I am a newbie to the Mac OS and I am having difficulty getting it installed on my Dell D630 laptop.

I have a Dell D630 laptop which has a hard disk with Vista installed on it. I want to wipe this and purely run it as a Mac.

In addiiton l have a new retail SL CD and a 500GB usb drive which i hope to use for any boot procedures i have to do.

Please note i do not have any access to a MAC.

So far all i have been able to do is install TransMac on a windows 7 PC and convert my 500GB usb drive into a HFS+ volume. I have then also restored my retail disk to this volume.

After this i am stuck.

How do i use the chameleon bootloader and where exactly do the "extra" packs and "boot" packs need to go to?

Any advice much appreciated?

Please note i am not familiar with the MAC os file system or .pkg files so any instruction i would appreciate if they were detailed.

Andy

I also recently began with the installation of the MAC OS X, but I went on long road