Advice needed

tbwrench

Good morning all (or evening/afternoon if you are in different timezones :) ),

I am wanting some advice please. I am a total newbie to the Hackintosh Scene. Should I try and get SL running on my D630 w/ Nividia, or should I try Lion?

As I said, I am a total newb to this scene. I have never used Mac before. I do not have another Mac. Everything I do to get this up and running will be done using a Windows PC. I have never used Linux b4 either. I have been looking through some older posts and also reading the wiki. Unfortunately, I must be a bit dense, because the wiki is not totally clear to me.

Some questions.... I know that Apple does not support this, and even if you buy your copy of OSX, its still iffy. If you get this up and running, can you use Itunes or App store, or does Apple servers determine that you are not legitimit and black l;ist you? WIll updates install?

I have d/l the SLD430USB.img.bz2. I wil continue to seed for a bit to help out as well. I aslo found and d/l 'Mac OS X Lion.dmg' from the Bay. There was a lot of choice on there, so I chose the on with the most d/l-seeds. I am not sure what the proper size of Lion should be so not sure wich was legit. Lion seems better cause its the newer but you may have all the bugs worked out for SL so its a tough call for me. I also have no idea what kexts, etc or how Apple file directory works. I do have an 8gb usb stick, but some of the howto's almost sound like you are installing OSX onto the stick rather than the HDD of the laptop.

Well, here's hoping someone will help! :) and thanks!

Also, I have noticed that there are some alternate 'Custom Bios Updates'.

1) Do I need to flash/update the BIOS? I know the page says;

"OSXLatitude have made a bunch of BIOS updates, these is made from the latest bios update from the vendor and contains the latest DSDT from EDP and SLIC support.

The benefit is a more vanilla-like system, better performance and higher stability."