E6220 and built-in microphone

marcinkk

Hi,

A few years ago I bought E6220 with the intention of installing macOS, but somehow I gave up and used it with Windows. Recently, the laptop "was no longer needed", so I came back to the idea of installing macOS :)

I read the instructions provided in @Hervé E6220 guide and started with High Sierra. Everything went smoothly, even Intel Wi-Fi started working (from AirportItlwm.kext) and I decided to update to Catalina. Here I needed to think through the instructions a little bit. As I'm a novice, I didn't really know what I was doing and something like this worked:

- I updated Clover first.
- Then I updated the files from the packages prepared by @Hervé, i.e. I overwrote what I had installing High Sierra with files for Mojave and then with files for Catalina.
- I restarted the system to check if it works.
- After reboot, I ran DosDude1's Patcher and installed 10.15.7.

It generally works, but I noticed 2 problems:
1) Some applications do not work, e.g. Chrome. But I think it is not a problem of Hackintosh, but of the Patcher itself and the computer's incompatibility with Catalina requirements (no compatibility with Metal): https://github.com/dosdude1/macos-catalina-patcher/issues/237. Am I right?
2) The "built-in microphone" doesn't work for me (I use the Polish version of the system and I translated it from Polish to English). It's about the microphone next to the camera. It seems to be detected (I can see the built-in microphone in System Preferences -> Sound), but when I test it, it doesn't work. Should it work? Am I missing something in the system or have I configured something incorrectly?

I also had to change AirportItlwm.kext to itlwm.kext + HeliPort. Is it again problem with Patcher or with Catalina itself?

Regards,
Mickey

• Administrators

Hi, it's old stuff now and I sold my E6220 a long time ago now but to answer your questions: