D630 on Lion Freezes

Mister3000

Hi Guys,

I have been up and running with my Upgraded D630 for quite a while and have been very happy with it.

I have 4GB RAM, 240GB SSD Hard Drive, T9500 @ 2.60Ghz Processor

Unfortunatley i have been getting freezes for the last few days. now this is a new thing since i have been running lion on my machine for about two years no problems.

so, i will be working on it and all of the sudden get the screen with the power button on it that says

"you need to restart your computer hold the power button..."

so I figured, maybe a virus.. or maybe something corrupted.

so i grab my my Hack OSx Install USB Disk,

fired it up so i can do a recover from back up to an earlier state and now I get Kernel Panic.

what the heck !! this is the same usb stick i used to install Lion on my machine.

So here its where i am:

Boot from USB Stick - Kernel Panic

Boot from Hard drive - machine boots fine, but it frezzes after 5 mins working on it.

if anyone can look at the picture of the Panic and tell me whats going on i will apreciate it.

BTW: i should mention that in my limited knowledge i thought i read CORE issue on the panic, so i swapped the hard drive out and installed windows 7 :oops: and ran the Intel Processor diagnostic tool 64bit, and the processor passed all test with flying colors.

post-8535-0-01522900-1398355872_thumb.jpg

• Administrators

I had a similar issue with Lion on my D630 GMAX3100 HiRes a few months ago. It would randomly give me the "black screen of death". I can't remember what I did to get it fixed, I think I recreated the /E/E with fresh copies of kexts then ran myFix (quick). Did you add anything recently, prior to the beginning of the trouble?

You KP picture shows kernel 13.0.0 and that is not Lion by the way...

So, Lion or Mavericks???

One thing that helped me get over kernel panic while working on getting Mavericks on my D630 was booting in safe mode.

Press any key at the boot screen then type -x for safe mode.