Need Acer Advice

Megatron

I'm looking to buy a new laptop and not spending the stratospheric Mac prices for simply the Apple name with inferior performance hardware. I'm reading more and more about Hackintoshes, I've never done one before, but enthused to make this work for my ideal laptop keeper and never change nor upgrade. I'm looking at 2 models, I prefer Acer, prices vary greatly, by double when comparing these two, but budget is not the concern, compatibily is;

http://www.target.com/p/acer-15-slim-laptop-pc-e5-511p-p1qh-with-1tb-hard-drive-4gb-memory-black/-/A-15706129#prodSlot=_1_3

http://us.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/model/NX.MQJAA.002

I want to install the last version or OS X 10.6.8 Snow Leopard and will not be upgrading to a higher OS X ever. I have gone through too many upgrades and downgrades to finally learn that "if it ain't broke, then don't try and fix it" I see many chats about Mavericks and Yosemite installations and running, but not much on Snow Leopard. My 2nd choice would be a Mountain Lion installation and I'm using this now, but don't like it as much. I really want to get back to 10.6.8. Any suggestions?

• Administrators

You're highly likely to meet issues with your 1st choice due to CPU and graphics model. 2nd choice is far better as the underlying hardware is more likely to be compatible with OS X.

Snow Leopard will not support Haswell platforms though, it only goes up to Sandy Bridge (possibly Ivy Bridge) generation and with 10.6.8. It's just too old now (it does kind of look a little dated today) and Apple dropped all support a year ago. Mavericks or Yosemite is your best choice.

well, the non-use of Snow Leopard could be a big deal-breaker for me though. I used Mavericks for a short while and found it to be very very buggy. The software would just do things on its own by randomly acting out it's own made-up prompts without any input from me, and I'm just watching it saying..."wtfaaa..."