D620 (nVidia): Kernel Panic with Lion

EVH

Update to my previous thread about installing SL on my D620.

Since I was unable to get the Snow Leopard installer to go beyond 4 lines on verbose mode and I was able to run the Lion installer with rather more success I decided to install Lion. Only thing was I had a Core Duo so I upgraded the CPU and got the Lion pack with My hack 3 .3.1. I am however getting a FakeSMC fatal error (see pics).

Bios version is a10

I have so far:

Added the following flags at boot:

-v but when that didn't work then

-v -f and when that didn't work then

-v -f -x

Toggled

===> Virtualization on and off

===> Speed step

===> hard drive performance or bypass options

Disabled

-Wifi (is there a hardware button to achieve that also?)

-Bluetooth

-Printer port

-Serial ports

But Fake SMC has to do with the CPU right? (I'm a forever newbie at this)

Lastly, I did apply the extra folder in MyHack.

I'm attaching some pics. Any ideas?

20210513_110952_Burst03.jpg

20210513_111551.jpg

Thanks in advance for your input

Here's a more complete kernel panic pic at the very end where it hangs.

20210513_114707.jpg

Bios version is a10. I don't remember have seen an AHCI option under sata to my recollection but will check.

You mean I should add that to the MyHack Extra folder? I did follow the instructions in the sense of having downloaded the correct pack which was the D620_NV110m_10.7.5_Pack for Lion installer. Shouldn't that pack be there? Should I resort to the old EDP installer method?

• Administrators

No AHCI option for the Latitude D620, the disk can only be run in IDE mode. As for EDP, it was abandoned many years ago and it's no longer relevant. The bootpacks I posted cater for everything and all is fully tuned.

Your issue has nothing to do with FakeSMC, which is unrelated to CPU. FakeSMC does what its name implies: it fakes the SMC of an Apple Mac.